Sheku Kanneh-Mason plays Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 1 with the CBSO

Thursday, 9th November 2017, 7:30pm
Royal Concert Hall, Theatre Square, Nottingham, NG1 5ND

For more information and to book tickets, click here

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla: Conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason: Cello
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1
Offenbach: Tears of Jacqueline
Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty (highlights), 35′

This is Sheku’s second performance in the company of the CBSO’s phenomenal new Music Director. Together they’ll be performing Shostakovich’s urgent First Cello Concerto, which gets its restless energy from the composer’s memories of harder times. Contrasting moods colour the rest of this concert, with Rachmaninov’s opener carrying the listener over dark waters. Its emotional swell is a far cry from the exuberance of Tchaikovsky’s ballet score to Sleeping Beauty. Scene after scene reveals the composer’s dramatic flair and gift for melody.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.30pm in the auditorium: Stephen Maddock, CEO of the CBSO, in conversation.