Wednesday 8th November 2017, 7:30pm
Symphony Hall, Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2EA

Click here for more information and to buy tickets

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla – Conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason – Cello
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov – The Isle of the Dead, 19
Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 1, 21′
Tchaikovsky – The Sleeping Beauty: Highlights, 35′

For the first time, Sheku teams up with Mirga Gražinytė- Tyla, in Shostakovich’s thriller of a First Cello Concerto. The results should be gripping – and a powerful contrast both to Rachmaninov’s shadowy fantasies, and the sparkling melodies and fairytale romance of Tchaikovsky’s The Sleeping Beauty.

CBSO+ 6.15pm: CBSO violinist Catherine Arlidge MBE talks to recent winner of BBC Young Musician of the Year Sheku Kanneh-Mason, and former winner, CBSO percussionist Adrian Spillett.